Texas Capitol Building - photo by Andy Masuo

The Texas State Capitol is located near downtown Austin and houses the chambers of the Texas Legislature and the office of the governor of Texas. It was designed originally during 1881 by architect Elijah E. Myers, and was constructed beginning 1882–88 by direction of civil engineer Reuben Lindsay Walker. A $75 million underground extension was completed during 1993. The building was added to the National Register of Historic Places during 1970 and recognized as a National Historic Landmark during 1986.[2][3] The Texas State Capitol building is 308 ft (94 m) tall.

The capitol rotunda features portraits of every person who has served as president of the Republic of Texas or governor of the state of Texas. The south foyer features sculptures of Sam Houston and Stephen F. Austin made by Elisabeth Ney. The rotunda is also a whispering gallery. The capitol has 360,000 square feet of floor space, more than any other state capitol building, and is on 2 1/4 acres (.9 hectares) of land. The building has nearly four hundred rooms and more than nine hundred windows.

The Texas State Capitol was ranked ninety-second in the "America's Favorite Architecture" poll commissioned by the American Institute of Architects, that ranked the top hundred-and-fifty favorite architectural projects in America as of 2007. In a 2008 poll by the AIA, it was also ranked the number-one state capitol.


Select Austin Real Estate LLC
9442 N Capital of Texas Hwy
Plaza One, Suite 500-150
Austin, TX 78759-7262